Just another Rainbow Christian's Blog

I will be posting some of my Blogs from the past since MySpace wiped out almost all of my pots on the Blog I had there (grrrr…).

Here’s one from 2006, that kinda shows that the more things change, the more things stay the same.

Am I too negative?

I certainly seem to be, to one of my one-line friends.

I wasn’t sure how to respond to him….I know he has a good heart and means well.

But he said he wasn’t going to read my Blog anymore.

But just in case he ‘stops by”,,and for anyone else who may also think I am too negative, I am going to attempt to “defend” why I post most of the things I do…

I want to compare myself to a prophet this morning.

No, not a person who predicts the future!!

Tho that is one of the dictionary definitions, and Bibical prophets often often did predict the futire! I have had no mystical visions of the days to come….

prophet::

  • 1. A person who speaks by divine inspiration or as the interpreter through whom the will of a god is expressed.
  • 2. A person gifted with profound moral insight and exceptional powers of expression.
  • 3. A predictor; a soothsayer.
  • 4. The chief spokesperson of a movement or cause.
  • But

    The other defintiions don’t quite fit either.,,,

    (But do notice that there is no “definition” that says that a “prophet was in any way “better” or “moraly supertior” to anyone else.)

    I will also tell you that I have not heard a loud audible voice from “the heavems” telling me to “go tell the people”….

    But I do believe that I have had a call from God to preach the truth, which is why i became an ordained clergy person some 26+ years ago…

    And I will dare to claim that makes me a type of “prophet”.

    Sometimes “preaching the truth” has meant speaking words of hope and comfort. God know I love those times..I’d rather do that than anything.

    There isn’t much yhat feels so good as to hear someone say that I mase a positive difference, I gave them encouragement, I brightened their day, I made it possible for them to do…..

    But sometimes “preaching the truth” can come off as pretty negative. The majority of the Bibical prophets were distinctly unpopular, and can be “seen” fleeing for their lives in the Bibical texts!!

    For the most part, their harshest words were directed towards the “leaders” of the nation, whether those people were religious or secular”.

    And of coirse there’s Jesus.

    I am willing to “stand corrected”, But I can not recall any “nice” things Jesus has to say to and about the leaders of his nation. I imagine they saw Him as pretty negative. They even said that what Je said and did put the nation in peril. “It is beeter that one man should die than a nation perish”, said the High Preist.

    So if I am negative, if my posts seem negative,, I’m sorry.

    I don’t mean to “to a bummer”. I’d LOVE to say something about those who are in power rught now….I really would.

    I’d like to be silent on the issues of the day.

    I’d like to ignore the blatant lies that are being told so that some people can hold power over “us”.

    I’d like to fill my Blog with nothing but jokes and pretty pictures and suxh. I’ve gots tons of cute and “inspirational” pieces that I could post so that I would bever have to post a “current event” related Blog for months.

    I’d like to do that.

    I really would.

    uit that wouldn’t be me.

    But that wouldn’t be very Christ-like.

    And when all is said and done, that IS what I am striving to be.

    God is still speaking
    http://www.stillspeaking.com

    “Illegible Records”

    Tell me what you REALLY think

        Tag Cloud

