Just another Rainbow Christian's Blog

Some Useful Quotes

“The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies; probably because generally they are the same people.” (G.K. Chesterton)

“Everywhere I go, I’m asked if I think the universities stifle writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them. There’s many a bestseller that could have been prevented by a good teacher.” (Flannery O’Connor)

“Ring the bells that still can ring/Forget your perfect offering/There is a crack in everything/That’s how the light gets in.” (Leonard Cohen)

“The main thing about Christianity is not the work we do, but the relationship we maintain and the atmosphere produced by that relationship. That is all God asks us to look after, and it is the one thing that is being continually assailed.” (Oswald Chambers)

“Between God and the soul there is no between.” (Julian of Norwich)

“My Lord God,
I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please You does in fact please You. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that, if I do this , You will lead me by the right road, though I may know nothing about it. Therefore I will trust You always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for You are ever with me, and You will never leave me to face my perils alone.” (Thomas Merton)

“A comprehended God is no God at all.” (St. John Chrysostom)

“Well, I can’t figure out God.” (Oral Roberts)

The modern church “is a safe place to escape the awful demands of God.” (Madeline L’Engle)

“The human experience of weakness is God’s blueprint for calling attention to the supremacy of his Son. When miserably failing people continue to belong to, believe in, and worship Jesus, God is happy.” (Michael Spencer)

“I believe in Christianity as I believe the sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” (C.S. Lewis)

“How strange for the church of Christ that claims to know Truth (the Creator himself), claims to be seen in the eyes of God as worthwhile enough for redemption and the death of Christ–how strange for this group of people who claim such a close relationship, a restored relationship no less, with the Creator himself, to forget and abandon creativity, a God-given gift, and more, to see it, when it is practiced at all, merely as a utilitarian means to an end, part of the professional Christian machinery.” (Frank Schaeffer)

“Go back?” he thought. “No good at all! Go sideways? Impossible! Go forward? Only thing to do! On we go!” So he got up, and trotted along with his little sword held in front of him and one hand feeling the wall, and his heart all of a patter and a pitter. (J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit)

“I always have a quotation for everything — it saves original thinking.” (Dorothy Sayers)

The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery; You shall not murder; You shall not steal; You shall not covet,” and any other commandment, are summed up in this word, “Love your neighbor as yourself.”
– Romans 13:9

I object to violence because when it appears to do good, the good is only temporary — the evil it does is permanent.
– Mahatma Gandhi

In many parts of the world the people are searching for a solution which would link the two basic values: peace and justice. The two are like bread and salt for mankind.
– Lech Walesa
from his Nobel Lecture

FAIR USE NOTICE:

This blog may contain copyrighted material. Such material is made available for educational purposes, to advance understanding of human rights, democracy, scientific, moral, ethical, and social justice issues, etc.

This constitutes a ‘fair use’ of any such copyrighted material as provided for in Title 17 U.S.C. section 107 of the US Copyright Law.

This material is distributed without profit

IMPORTANT NOTICE

You may have noticed the increased amount of notices for you to notice. Some of our notices have not been noticed. This is very noticeable. It has been noticed that the responses to the notices have been noticeably unnoticed. This notice is to remind you to notice the notices and respond to the notices, because we do not want the notices to go unnoticed.

“I trace the rainbow through the rain and see the promise is not in vain.”


Every 3.6 seconds a real person dies from hunger somewhere in the world!!!
Feed a hungry person today:
http://www.hungersite.com

My YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/Ninure

God is still speaking
http://www.stillspeaking.com

John Mark Ministries
http://jmm.aaa.net.au/

Tell me what you REALLY think

Tag Cloud

