Just another Rainbow Christian's Blog

Start the Car

Excerpt from Genesis 12: 1-3
Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to a land that I will show you I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you, and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing.”

Reflection by Ron Buford

I refuse to drive people places who won’t tell me all the places we are going BEFORE leaving home. I hate crisscrossing town.

This trait, or flaw, depending on your perspective, always infuriated my Mom (whom we affectionately called Queen Dorothy behind her back). This difference between us never made any sense to me until I read some things about patterns of difference (not universal by any means) between women and men. One pattern is that we guys can tend to be “hunter-gatherer” types, wanting to hunt it down, bag it, and bring it home. By contrast, women can tend to be more relationship-oriented, and, as it turns out, this was the case with Queen Dorothy, who was much more interested in spending time with me than in efficiently checking off tasks.

In this text, God gives Abram instructions, as did Queen Dorothy.

“Let’s go,” God says

“Go where?” I ask.

“To a land I will show you. Just start the car. And don’t worry,” God says. “As long as I’m in the car you’re your car will run better than an electric car, plus you will be blessed and a blessing to the world . . . You got something better to do? . . . I didn’t think so, just drive.”

Today, God wants a ride. Take God with you. Go places you never dreamed. Enjoy the company.

Prayer
Gracious God, Let’s have lunch while we’re out . . . on You! Amen.

About the Author
Ron Buford, former coordinator of the UCC’s God is still speaking campaign, consults with religious and nonprofit organizations, leads workshops, and preaches in churches across the U.S. and U.K. Ron also appears in the DVD-based progressive theology series, Living the Questions 2.0.

Live simply. Love generously.
Care deeply. Speak kindly.
Leave the rest to God.

“The Lord sets the prisoners free; the Lord opens the eyes of the blind. The Lord lifts up those who are bowed down; the Lord loves the righteous. The Lord watches over the strangers; [the Lord] upholds the orphan and the widow.”
– Psalm 146:7-9

===================

“I trace the rainbow through the rain and see the promise is not in vain.”

My YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/Ninure

God is still speaking
http://www.stillspeaking.com

John Mark Ministries
http://jmm.aaa.net.au/

Tell me what you REALLY think

Tag Cloud

