Just another Rainbow Christian's Blog

This is a selection from my files that was first posted on Feb., 19th 2009.

Today is Ash Wednesday. and it is always the day after the day I find myself dealing that have found more cancer in my body. I could be tempted to take this day to cry “Why me?”What did I do?. No doubt I will cry, in fear, sadness, anger. But I have the faith in the midst of my doubt, that God hears me. God is with me, I am not alone. Thanks be to God. – Ninure da Hippie

A Prayer from the Pit

 Bible Excerpt from Job 30:18-19 (NIV)
In his great power God becomes like clothing to me, he binds me like the neck of my garment. He throws me into the mud, and I am reduced to dust and ashes.

Reflection by Kenneth L. Samuel

The only thing worse than the deep, dark agony of desperation and suffering is silence. Out of the abysmal cauldron of his calamitous condition, Job speaks, but not just in rants to those around him who would listen. Job speaks in faith to God, for there is no other way to speak to God. Prayers from the pit of painful predicaments are nevertheless acknowledgements of God’s presence. And even though Job expresses great disappointment in the fact that God had not elected to alleviate his distress, he nevertheless acknowledges God’s power–for the same God who has the power to throw us into the mud and reduce us to dust and ashes is the same God who has the power to lift us out of the mud and give us new life. Any prayer out of any condition that acknowledges the presence and the power of God has potential to unleash new possibilities for life. Ask Job. He would tell you that the God of his deepest dejection is also the God of his greatest deliverance.

Prayer
Lord, even in the midst of our deepest distresses, we are grateful that you hear us. Help us to never forget that your presence has the power to make our lives new. Amen.

About the Author
Kenneth L. Samuel is Pastor of Victory for the World Church, United Church of Christ, Stone Mountain, Georgia, and the author of Solomon’s Success: Four Essential Keys to Leadership.

My YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/Ninure

God is still speaking
http://www.stillspeaking.com

John Mark Ministries
http://jmm.aaa.net.au/

Tell me what you REALLY think

Tag Cloud

