Just another Rainbow Christian's Blog

This is yet anther “thing” pulled from my files.I honestly don’t know where I got it from, but I must say this is a time that I need to hear this message. – Ninure da Hippie

The Ultimate Sob Story
Read: Job 42:1-6

My ears had heard of You but now my eyes have seen You. –Job 42:5

My boyfriend broke up with me. I hated my job. I wrecked my car–twice. But there’s good news too. My dog still loved me.

It may sound like a sad country tune, but it all came true for me one summer. I was anxious and depressed, and I felt as if everything I loved and wanted was abruptly taken away. I didn’t see much hope for me.

That is, until I reread the story of a guy who had it even worse. (Funny how that can make you feel better sometimes.) Here’s a guy who lost his whole family, except, of course, for his kind and sympathetic wife. She’s the one who recommended he “curse God and die.” Love you too, Dear.

Job also lost his wealth, property, and livestock. Not to mention the fact that he suddenly broke out in terrible boils. To which his friends replied that Job, a man of godly character, must be receiving punishment for his sins (true-blue buddies). And since it seemed that God wasn’t listening, Job was feeling more alone than ever.

Finally, God spoke. But He didn’t speak up with reasons for Job’s suffering. Instead, God’s voice split the air as He approached Job with questions of His own: “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand” (Job 38:4). “Who endowed the heart with wisdom or gave understanding to the mind? (v.36). “Does the eagle soar at your command and build his nest on high?” (39:27).

Ouch! Job was suddenly silenced. God’s goodness and love and power couldn’t be questioned. In an instant, Job realized that God Himself was the answer to any question he might have.

This all brings me to a choice: In my times of greatest heartache and struggle, will I turn away from my Creator? Or will I remember Job 42:5 and look to see more clearly who He is and how He wants to use my broken heart?

As God increases my faith, I pray for 20/20 vision to see Him in the middle of my suffering. –SC

REFLECTION
* Have I ever felt abandoned by God? When?
* Is God in control of my life? (Job 42:2). How do I know?
* How can suffering help me to “see God”?

When blinded by sorrow, look to Jesus.

Every 3.6 seconds a real person dies from hunger somewhere in the world!!!
Feed a hungry person today:
http://www.hungersite.com

My YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/Ninure

God is still speaking
http://www.stillspeaking.com

John Mark Ministries
http://jmm.aaa.net.au/

Tell me what you REALLY think

Tag Cloud

